Congrats to Belle Isle volunteers; the folks who give our neighborhood its voice

Belle Isle Blog is overdue in recognizing the newly elected Belle Isle Residents Association board, which plays a crucial role as our neighborhood advocate on key issues at Miami Beach City Hall and with Miami-Dade County and the Florida Department of Transportation.

They are active (in their day jobs) in areas from architecture to real estate, and many have key roles in other volunteer quality of life ventures — from Miami Beach committees to civic groups.

The association’s president, Scott Diffenderfer (Belle Plaza), is a local Realtor and a member of Miami Beach’s Transportation Committee.

Vice President Charlie Urstadt lives in Belle Towers, and last month was selected as chair of the city of Miami Beach Planning Board. Urstadt also serves as chair of the Miami Beach Design Preservation League, a director of Friends of Miami Marine Stadium and is managing director of Urstadt Real Estate, a consulting firm.

Jean Francois-Lejeune (Belle Plaza) is a professor of architecture (and director of graduate studies) at the University of Miami, author and a Miami Beach Planning Board member.

Nancy Liebman (9 Island Avenue) is a former Miami Beach City Commissioner, and along with long-time board member Herb Frank, one of the founders  of the activist group Miami Beach United. Frank is active with Scenic Miami.

At the risk of leaving anyone out, here’s a complete list of board members as of the latest Belle Island Association election, from the association website:

  • Scott Diffenderfer (20 Island Avenue) [President]
  • Josh Fisher (9 Island Avenue)
  • Herb Frank (10 Venetian Way) [Treasurer]
  • Garry Korr (11 Island Avenue)
  • Sandra Money (3 Island Avenue)
  • Barbara Frank (10 Venetian Way)
  • Nancy Liebman (9 Island Avenue)
  • David Leeds (20 Island Avenue)
  • Monica Tracy (5 Island Avenue) [Secretary)
Directors Elected 2012 (Terms expire January, 2014)

  • Nancy Beckham (20 Island Avenue)
  • Jean-Francois Lejeune with wife Astrid Rotemberg as Sub (20 Island Avenue)
  • Elaine Solomon (1 Century Lane) [Elected January 2013]
  • Charles Urstadt (16 Island Avenue)  [Vice-President]


Secretary Monica Tracey (5 Island Ave.) is an active area real estate agent.


One response to “Congrats to Belle Isle volunteers; the folks who give our neighborhood its voice

  1. Thanks Rick, nice of u. David Leeds

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s