New Miami Beach citizens group has roots in Belle Isle

A new Miami Beach citizen advocacy group, Miami Beach United, plans to announce itself at a press conference Wednesday at 6 p.m. in front of City Hall, 1700 Convention Center Dr.

Three key founders live on Belle Isle — former Miami Beach Commissioner Nancy Liebman (9 Island Avenue resident), Belle Isle Residents Association president Scott Diffenderfer (Belle Plaza), and Belle Isle Residents Association board member Herb Frank (Grand Venetian).

Another activist key to its formation is activist Herb Sosa, leader of the Unity Coalition, who helped draft the new group’s its mission statement:

Dedicated to improving the quality of life for all Miami Beach residents, managed and measured growth for our city, and ethical leadership of government — for a vibrant city root in history, its people, resources and neighborhoods, with focus on the future.

The group has been organizing for several months, and met in February to go over key goals and develop a strategy for raising money through donations. The non-profit says all donations will go “right back into efforts to improve the quality of life for all in Miami Beach..”

2 responses to “New Miami Beach citizens group has roots in Belle Isle

  1. Pingback: Miami Beach United’s first act: Pressure on Commissioner Wolfson | Belle Isle Blog

  2. I too went to celebrate the h & m opening only to find myself towed by tremont towing. Completely unfair due to the fact that there are no visible signs that you will be towed if park there. I thought I was parking at a city parking lot, purchase time to park and everything. Due to the fact that the city has this business as there official g co. I seriously doubt it that anything will be done. But I go to Lincoln road twice a month and spend money in your city, I will no take my business to ft. Lauderdale due to the fact that I feel this is very wrong, I was not the only one that parked in that lot, behind me where 10 other people that spent money in your city and felt robbed. I hope that I was not the only one that decided to complaint. Totally wrong what you are allowing.

Leave a Reply

